The draw for the World Group play-offs has been realised this Tuesday, in London, and the eight ties promise to be very interesting (host countries first):

  • India vs Czech Republic
  • Switzerland vs Netherlands
  • Russia vs Italy
  • Uzbekistan vs United States
  • Colombia vs Japan
  • Dominican Republic vs Germany
  • Brazil vs Croatia
  • Poland vs Slovakia

The play-offs will be held on the same weekend as the World Group semifinals, between the 18th and the 20th of September.

Spain to play relegation

Spain’s new captain Conchita Martínez had only 10 days to build a competitive team for their tie in Russia and she came very close to win her wager against timing, with the team taking a 2-0 lead after the first day.

However, Russia mounted an impressive comeback and were the ones to advance to the World Group play-offs.

Consequently, Spain will visit Denmark in September to maintain their place in Group I. Should they lose, the five-time champions will be in Group II in 2016. However, according to Marca, Rafael Nadal, David Ferrer, and Feliciano López should be on the team for this important challenge, as they all need to play more Davis Cup ties in order to be eligible to take part in the 2016 Olympic Games, held in 2016 in Rio.